Fabrication: An Introduction

So you may have noticed I’ve been posting a lot about magic systems recently. Well of course you have, you follow me, you’re probably all like “Why am I getting these emails about this blog I might have started reading like four years ago and forgot about two years ago?” But whatever, that’s not the point. The point is I’ve been thinking a lot about writing magic because I’ve been working on developing set of magic systems for a novel. Because of course I am.

I’m so concerned about this set of systems primarily because I’ve taken the lessons of Brandon Sanderson’s Laws of Magic to heart. I very much intend the characters to solve problems with magic, so the systems have to be on the hard side of the spectrum.

The primary solutions I need to have accessible to the characters:

      1. Shapeshifting
      2. Cloning (proper cloning, that is; creating body doubles)
      3. Manipulation of clouds and fog (controlling movement and generating fog)
      4. Dehumidification – basically, the opposite of fog generation
      5. Causing a volcanic eruption (or, better yet, three of them at the same time)

I believe in order to encompass all the applications I need for the plot, I need a set of magic systems: one to deal with manipulation of the body, and another one or more to deal with manipulation of the natural world.

The first system, then, is Corporofabrication, or just Fabrication. This system focuses on body manipulation, covering such ground as shapeshifting, cloning, and miscellaneous medical uses. This is an External system – as I wrote here, this covers systems that rely on some kind of device to function.

For the purpose of shapeshifting, I have created an overview of a device. This device is made of four parts: the input, the output, the connection, and the power source.

The output is, naturally, the body of that person to be shapeshifted. The body is placed in a tub and dissolved, in much the way a caterpillar is dissolved in its cocoon. Through the function of this device, this solution is then transformed into the form designated by the device.

The input consists of the material that determines what the body will shapeshift into. The material acts as a kind of template to reorganize the dissolved tissue of the subject body. Eight essences are required for this template: blood, muscle, bone, fat, skin, cranial fluid, gametes, and bile. Optimally, these all come from the same source, save for cranial fluid, which comes from the subject in order to preserve the subject’s memories.

The connection is the main body of the machine, bringing together the input and the output. It’s supposed to work as a sort of computer, with the information from the essence input being transferred electrically (or in a way similar to electricity) to the solution output.

Finally, the machine requires a power source, possibly electrical, but that could change as I work on it.

If you have any thoughts or questions, don’t hesitate to comment! I’ve posted this primarily to get some input. I’ll also continue to post concerning this system, specifying functions and quirks that either I’ve already come up with or will come up with.

2 thoughts on “Fabrication: An Introduction

  1. StubbornVirus says:

    I wonder how someone discovered this method- were there inherent principles that made it possible that could be manipulated by the various characters?

Leave a Reply

