Fabrication: Supersystem

Intro

Metamorpher, and Part 2

Origins, and Part 2

Biocrystal

So I’ve already discussed two overall applications of corporofabrication (or corporofabrication and aurofabrication (which is pressure manipulation)), now I’d like to brainstorm three different supersystems that would include these two and others. As mentioned last week, each individual function would have a particular color assigned to it, but now I’d like to consider the total number of subsystems within a series of potential systems.

These supersystems are based on symbolic models that I think corresponds well to the themes of the system as a whole and the themes of the world for which this system is being created.

Model 1: Corporal Functions

The first potential supersystem is based on corporal functions, or systems of the body. Individual systems would be based on bodily functions. Based on research, there are about eleven different systems of the body, so that would mean a total of about eleven different submagics to Fabrication as a whole, which I feel is, while on the large size, a reasonable number to deal with.

This one has the advantage over the other two in that it feels the most universal to me. This feels like all of life boiled down to the most essential elements, the things which all forms of life must have, after a fashion.

Model 2: The Senses

While I kinda like this one, the list of senses that even humans have is enormous (at least compared to these other models), and that’s without counting the myriad of senses available to other forms of life. Essentially, here, an individual system would correspond to an individual sense. And while you might think that I’d only need to use the five classical senses, even then this system makes things problematic for any kind of being that lacks one of those five (say, for example, sight).

But I wouldn’t want to restrict this kind of supersystem to just the five classical senses: some of the other senses, such as balance/acceleration and self-proportion, would be fascinating to try designing a magic for.

Model 3: Additive Light

This one I like the most out of the three, but it falls under much the same problems as Model 2: namely that it’s very humanocentric. This wouldn’t be a problem if this magic were only available to humans, but as I’ve laid out in previous posts, that’s not the intention here. And since additive light is based on the unique way in which humans (and mammals and many other animals, granted) process light, I don’t feel I can use this.

Which is a pity, because, as I said, I really like the ideas of this system. Essentially, the supersystem would have three primary subsystems, three primary magics, and then combining any two would result in a secondary subsystem. A seventh, final magic would result from combining all three primary magics.

Ultimately, I’ve been feeling drawn to Model 1, though. I’d love to revisit these other systems, but they’ll have to be for other worlds rather than the one I’ve been working on.

I already hear some of you saying that creating a symbolic supersystem is arbitrary and unnecessary, but I should point out that such a supersystem functions to orient the systems in regards to the others – to connect all the functions I need to be present – and at least makes it easier for me to expand upon the supersystem as a whole.

Thought? More knowledge you’d like to impart upon me in regards to one of these models? Please comment, or like, subscribe, etc.

Leave a Reply

